PH updates the “red list”, travel ban imposed on 7 other countries

Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippines has imposed travel restrictions on seven other countries when updating their “red list” effective November 28, Malacañang said Sunday.

In a statement, Acting Presidential Spokesman Karlo Nograles announced that those added to the “red list” or the list of areas considered to be at high risk for COVID-19 are Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Belgium, Italy.

Travel restrictions in these seven countries will be until December 15.

These countries are in addition to South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique.

“Inbound international travel of all persons, regardless of immunization status, from or having been in Red List countries / jurisdictions / territories in the 14 days prior to arrival at a port in the Philippines will not be permitted. Nograles said in the statement.

Only Filipinos re-entering the country through government-initiated or non-government-initiated repatriation and flights from Bayanihan may be allowed entry subject to entry, testing and quarantine protocols in effect for countries listed on the red list.

On the other hand, passengers who have traveled to these countries within 14 days and who will arrive before 12:01 am on November 30 will not be subject to these travel restrictions.

“They will nevertheless have to undergo quarantine in the establishment for 14 days with tests on the 7th day, day 1 being the date of arrival, despite a negative RT-PCR result,” Nograles said.

Meanwhile, passengers who have already arrived before November 28 must then complete their respective testing and quarantine protocols.

Passengers, whether Filipino or foreign, simply transiting through such countries will not be considered to have come or been to said country if they have remained at the airport the entire time and have not been permitted to enter. in this country by its immigration authorities. .

They are, however, still required to adhere to existing testing and quarantine protocols.


Subscribe to our national newsletter

For more information on the novel coronavirus, click here.

What you need to know about the Coronavirus.

For more information on COVID-19, call the DOH hotline: (02) 86517800 local 1149/1150.

The Inquirer Foundation supports our first healthcare and always accepts cash donations to be deposited into Banco de Oro (BDO) checking account # 007960018860 or to donate through PayMaya using this connect .

Read more

Don’t miss the latest news and information.

To subscribe to REQUEST MORE to access The Philippine Daily Inquirer and over 70 other titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download from 4 a.m. and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For comments, complaints or inquiries, Contact us.

Comments are closed.