More join sheriff’s race, Rowan County lawmakers call for re-election on second day of filing – Salisbury Post

By Natalie Anderson

SALISBURY – A few other local Republicans entered the Rowan County sheriff race on Tuesday during the second day of nominations, and more of the current county lawmakers have also called for re-election.

Nominations for the 2022 election began on Monday, with former state soldier and current school resources manager Tommie Cato and trucking company operator Jack Eller, both Republicans, being the first candidates for the election. to file. On Tuesday, the current Rowan County Commissioner and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Officer Mike Caskey filed a complaint. Greg Hannold, a captain in the sheriff’s department who oversees the prison, and Travis Allen, an investigator in the sheriff’s office, were also dropped off. Sheriff Kevin Auten will not be running for re-election.

Former statesman Carlton Killian is the only Democrat to run for the sheriff’s race so far.

A North Carolina Court of Appeals court order issued Monday morning temporarily blocked the start of filing for all US House, State House and Senate contests until further order. It was a temporary stay issued by a three-judge panel linked to an ongoing trial that alleges partisan gerrymandering in the newly adopted districts. The decision was overturned Monday night by the North Carolina Court of Appeals.

Representative Harry Warren, a Republican who represents Rowan County in District 76, has sought re-election for a seventh term. He told the Post last week that he wanted to use his senior status to accomplish more for his district, with work towards an Interstate 85 interchange in East Spencer as one of his top priorities to help generate revenue. economic activity in this region.

In the new maps, District 76 will cover Salisbury, Spencer, East Spencer, Granite Quarry, Faith, and southeast Rowan County.

Representative Julia Howard, who was first elected to the State House over 30 years ago, has sought re-election in District 77, which includes parts of Rowan and Davie County. With the new maps, District 77 would include the northwest part of Rowan County and all of Davie and Yadkin counties.

Senator Carl Ford, a Republican representing Rowan and Stanly Counties in District 33, has also called for re-election for a third term in the Senate and his sixth overall term in the General Assembly. Ford told the Post electoral reform was one of the top priorities he hopes to work on if he is re-elected.

The new District 83 will include the southwestern part of Rowan County and the northwestern corner of Cabarrus County. Although a few Republicans have announced a race, Grant Campbell, a Republican from Concord, is the only one to have filed a claim so far.

Rep. Richard Hudson, a Republican, has applied to represent the new 10th Congressional District of North Carolina, which will include Rowan County. Hudson represented Rowan County until 2020, and Representative Ted Budd represented Rowan County in the 13th Congressional District. Budd is seeking election to the US Senate to occupy the seat of incumbent Senator Richard Burr when he leaves in 2022. Budd has yet to apply.

The U.S. Senate field includes five Republicans, including Benjamin E. Griffiths of Cleveland, Lee Brian of Clayton, Lichia Sibhatu of Raleigh, Jen Banwart of Fuquay Varina, and Charles Kenneth Moss of Randleman. Rett Newton of Beaufort is the only Democrat to run for the US Senate on Tuesday.

Two Republicans from Salisbury also filed for judicial elections on Tuesday. Tim Gould has asked to keep his seat as a county superior court judge. James Randolph for re-election as District Court Judge. District Court Chief Justice Charlie Brown has announced he will not stand for re-election after more than two decades on the bench.

No other candidate stood for election to the Rowan County Council of Commissioners, which has three open seats. Incumbents Jim Greene, Greg Edds and Judy Klusman, all of whom are Republicans, have called for re-election. They will be joined in the race by Rowan-Salisbury Education Council vice-chairwoman Alisha Byrd-Clark, a Democrat.

Other candidates who filed on Tuesday:

Supreme Court of North Carolina (two seats)

• Lucy Inman, a Democrat from Raleigh

• Richard Dietz, a Republican from Raleigh who currently sits on the North Carolina Court of Appeals

• April Wood, a Republican from Lexington who won the 2020 North Carolina Court of Appeals election

• Sam J. Ervin IV, a Democrat from Morganton

• Trey Allen, a Republican from Hillsborough who is currently General Counsel in the North Carolina Court Administrative Office

North Carolina Court of Appeal (four seats)

• Julie Tate Flood, a Republican from Holly Springs running for seat 8

• Beth Freshwater-Smith, a Wilson Republican running for seat 9

• Donna Stroud, Garner’s outgoing Republican running for seat 9

• Gale Murray Adams, a Democrat from Fayetteville running for seat 10

• John M. Tyson, the Republican coming out of Fayetteville who is running for seat 10

• Darren Jackson, a Democrat from Raleigh running for seat 11

• Michael J. Stading, a Republican from Mecklenburg who seeks seat 11

If you have any questions regarding submitting a nomination, contact the Rowan County Electoral Board at 704-216-8140 or visit their website at

Comments are closed.