How DuPage County Residents Can Join the Permanent Vote-by-Mail List

DuPage County voters can sign up to receive mail-in ballots continuously each election.

The County Clerk’s Office is now accepting applications to be placed on a permanent mail-in ballot. Mail-in voters previously had to apply one election at a time.

“Permanent mail-in voting increases voting choices. Nothing else is taken away,” DuPage County Clerk Jean Kaczmarek said in a statement. “Voters can still vote in person on Election Day or during early voting. Additionally, voters can continue to choose a single mail-in ballot.”

Last year, state lawmakers passed a law allowing election officials to offer the ability to register on permanent mail-in ballots. Five states and Washington, DC, allow any voter to register on a permanent mail-in ballot and will mail that voter a mail-in ballot for each election, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

In 2020, the mail-in voting system in Illinois was expanded due to the pandemic. A third of DuPage voters chose mail-in ballots in the 2020 general election.

“We expect mail-in voting to grow in popularity, even as the pandemic wanes,” Kaczmarek said. “With new and faster equipment and procedures, our office is ready to handle growth.”


DuPage voters can apply for permanent Vote-by-Mail status or a Single Ballot Single Ballot on the County Clerk’s Elections website at Within the next month, the Clerk’s Office will send voters a paper application to register on the permanent mail-in ballot.

The first batch of ballots will not be sent out until May 19. Ballots can take four to five business days to arrive, according to election officials.

The primary election takes place on June 28. Mailed-in ballots must be postmarked by Election Day to be counted in the final tally.

As an alternative, ballots may also be brought to the County Clerk’s Elections Office, drop boxes located in the parking lot and front entrance of the County Administration Building, 421 County Farm Road, Wheaton, or at a DuPage polling place.

Comments are closed.